Unusual Open G tuning?

JungleJim99

Electromatic
Jun 20, 2022
Phoenix, AZ
Today I heard a song by singer/dobro player Abbie Gardner ('Cold Black Water'). She said the tuning was Open G, but it is like no other that I have found online. Her tuning is G B D G B D rather than what I found - D G D G B D. Since I am new to the resonator and open tunings I have a couple of questions:
- With standard tuning having the low string as an 'E,' do I tune the 6th string up or down to the G
- Is there any concern with over tensioning (if that is the correct direction) the low string (other than the string breaking) - like causing damage to the tuner, neck, etc.?

Thanks for any help!

fuzz guy

Electromatic
Mar 20, 2022
Adelaide, South Australia
That's an interesting tuning, it eliminates having the low string being D which I hate. I do the Keith Richards thing and just take it off.

I would suspect you tune the low string up to G. It would help if it was a shorter scale guitar, but I don't know, it would certainly make me nervous even though it's only one and a half steps.

Shock

Synchromatic
Sep 7, 2020
Minnesota
I am not familiar with the dobro, but sure sounds like an open G chord. Check out this video. He talks about using a hipshot, after the 4 minute mark. Explains how to get the 2 different tunings.

Last edited:

Henry

I Bleed Orange
Apr 9, 2014
Petaluma
Tune up. I doubt it would be a problem re tension but you could a lower gauge E string or like others said another A string.

dspellman

Gretschie
Jul 4, 2020
Los Angeles
That's an interesting tuning, it eliminates having the low string being D which I hate. I do the Keith Richards thing and just take it off.
I use Variax guitars to do "the Keith Richards thing".