Get to know Eric Davis, the first-ever Gretsch Distinguished Scholar of Guitar/Music Industry

Emergence

Synchromatic
May 25, 2022
New York
Jazz was first being taken seriously at the university level when I was a student from 1967 to 1971. It's taken a long time for guitar music to be taken as seriously and it's taken a Fred and Dinah Gretsch School of Music to do it. Too long in coming.

wabash slim

I Bleed Orange
Feb 10, 2010
lafayette in
Jazz was first being taken seriously at the university level when I was a student from 1967 to 1971. It's taken a long time for guitar music to be taken as seriously and it's taken a Fred and Dinah Gretsch School of Music to do it. Too long in coming.
Jazz has always been important at the Indiana U School of Music. I worked for the music dept. for a couple of years in the early/mid '70s, and, as well as classical, jazz was a pretty big part. You didn't find students playing jazz in the local bars---the profs were.

Booker T graduated from IU Music with a degree in trombone. "Green Onions" and session work in Memphis paid for his schooling. It's also John Mellenkamp's stomping ground, as well as Bill Monroe's.

At Purdue, the Uni's jazz band is second to none. We'd have a huge jazz festival every January. High schools and unis from all over the Midwest would attend. Collegiate and secondary schools tend toward big band styles, obviously, just to give all of the students that wanted to play a chance.

One thing I've noticed is the proliferation of Roland JC120s---most of them with damaged cabinets. That angle iron doesn't seem to help much.

Last edited:

BCRatRod73

Synchromatic
Sep 1, 2020
Mississippi
With Rock music you play three chords in front of fifty thousand people.
With Jazz music you play fifty thousand chords in front of three people.
Seriously though, jazz guitar is definitely not my thing but those guys are really skilled.

Henry

I Bleed Orange
Apr 9, 2014
Petaluma